Fort Worth Juvenile DUI Lawyer

Fort Worth DUI/DWI Defense Attorney

Drunk Driving Defense in Dallas, Texas

People commonly mistake DWI and DUI as being the same thing. In Texas however, these charges are two different crimes altogether. A DWI is a Class B misdemeanor referring to someone driving over the legal limit of 0.08%. A DUI is a Class C misdemeanor only used when referring to drivers under 21 who have drank any amount of alcohol. Frequently, minors who have a BAC above the legal limit for adults will be charged with DWI instead of the lesser crime of DUI.

When an officer pulls over a minor and smells alcohol on the juvenile’s breath, the officer may issue a ticket for a DUI or bring the minor into the station for testing. If you are under 21 and have been pulled over, never admit to drinking alcohol. This will be used as an admission of guilt and will be used against you in your DUI trial. Do not submit to a Field Sobriety Test, these tests are designed for your failure and are not legally required. You are legally required to take a chemical test when required to do so. If you do not, you will be charged with a DWI.

Penalties for a DUI include fines up to$500 and a six month license suspension. If you have received two prior DUIs, you may have to pay up to $2000, spend six months in jail and lose your license for six months. When you are pulled over and charged with a DUI, you have 15 days to file for an Administrative License Review or your license will be suspended automatically. A Fort Worth Juvenile DWI attorney can greatly help you in your ALR hearing and it may benefit your defense in your criminal trial later on.

Even as a minor, you do have rights. Just like adult DWI suspects, an officer must have a reasonable suspicion in order to pull you over and a probable cause to arrest you. You have the right to remain silent. You also have the right to protect yourself in court with the help of a skilled Fort Worth Juvenile DUI attorney.

A Metroplex charge of DUI will remain on your record and can haunt you in future employment and housing searches. If you hire a Fort Worth juvenile drunk driving defense lawyer and plead for a deferred probation or acquire a not guilty verdict in court, you can have the charges expunged from your record when you turn 21. This means the record of your arrest will be permanently removed from your criminal record.

If you are under 21 and have been charged with a DUI or DWI, contact an experienced Fort Worth DWI attorney from The Law Office of A Dallas DWI Lawyer. Your future may depend on your choices today.

Fill out this form to have one of our experienced trial attorneys contact you immediately (All communications are protected by Attorney/Client privilege):


Please enter the code:

Case Sensitive